Nestled in Readfield’s small community is a historical brick building that is a true artistic treasure. Supporters have recognized the importance of restoring and preserving Maine’s second oldest brick church which originally served as a “ meeting place” for several denominations. Mainers, in 1827, realized that creating a sense of community was as important, just as it is today.
The artistry of Prussian painter Charles Schumacher adorns the interior of the Meeting house. Schumacher’s artistic style of trompe l’oeil murals appear as though they were recently done. Of his 51 works completed in Maine in 1860-80, this is his last known surviving work, completely intact. The hand painted stenciled windows and a working 1890’s pump organ are two other features of the Meeting House.
After decades of non-use and neglect, the Meeting House fell into disrepair. A formal restoration program was founded in 2009. Today, inside restoration is mostly complete. With the rebuilding of the floor support system, the Meeting House is now open to concerts, talks and visitors. So now, major restoration moves outside and up over the next three years. Featured is the complete restoration of the steeple, clock and belfry, topped with a replica of the original 30’ spire, planned in 2001!
Across the lawn from the Meeting House, the Vestry, built in 1809, will be renovated over the same three year period and transformed into a Community Center. Together, the Meeting House and the Vestry will provide an historic venue for cultural and entertainment events, including music, food, dance, art, weddings, memorials, meetings, and more.
Total estimated cost over three years is $620,000. To make this all possible, a major fundraising Capital Campaign is being kick-offed. We need your help. Please click “Support Us”.